warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/baseball/public_html/includes/theme.inc:1) in /home/baseball/public_html/includes/common.inc on line 148.

Houston Astros

One of the popular Major League Baseball teams, the Houston Astros is located in Houston. They play for the Central Division of the National League. Until now, the Houston Astros appeared once in the World Series in 2005. It was against the ‘Chicago White Sox.’ It is interesting to note that the Houston Astros are yet to win a Major League Baseball World Series title.
History of the Houston Astros
George Kirksey, Craig Cullinan, Bob Smith and Judge Roy Hofheinz were instrumental in forming the Houston Sports Association in 1952. But when MLB refused to recognize this franchise, the four founding members formed a new league in order to compete with the National League and the American League. The new league was named as the Continental League.
However, it was never started. With the endeavor of both the leagues, that is NL and AL to expand their teams from 8 to 10 in order to protect the potential markets, the Houston Astros had a fair chance of getting enlisted under any of them. Finally, Houston won a franchise in the National League and started playing in 1962 under the name of ‘Houston Colt .45s.’
The period during 1962 to 1964 was known as the Colt .45 Era. It was then that the team finished at the 8th place out of the 10 teams in the National League. In spite of the fact that they had a very poor finish, one of the positive aspects was the hiring of Roman Mejias from the Pittsburg Pirates. It was a part of their expansion policy.
Over the years, their uniform was changed many times with innovative implementation of colors. The years from 1981 to 1985 were known as the reconstruction period of the team. Injuries and player strikes had affected the team badly and it was taking a heavy toll on their performance. After they had had sorted out their problems, they signed McLane along with Bagwell and Biggio. This was definitely a wise and prudent move because the team began showing signs of consistent success thereafter. In the year 2000, the Houston Astros moved into their new stadium which was initially known as the ‘Enron Field’. It was in the same year that they got their first pennant.
Former & Present Mascots of the Houston Astros
Chester Charge: It was their first mascot introduced in the April of 1977. Chester Charge was actually the costume of a cartoon Texas cavalry soldier weighing 45 pounds.
Orbit: This was a creature from outer space colored with lime green. It wears an Astros jersey and has two antennas which extend into baseballs. It was the official mascot of the team from the period 1990 to 1999.
Junction Jack: It is a rabbit measuring 7 foot (2.13 meters tall) and is dressed in the franchise’ pinstripe jersey. Since 2000, he has been t he official mascot of the team till date.
Houston Astros Hall of Fame
  • Gene Elston
  • Milo Hamilton
Facts & Figures
Major league titles
  • World Series titles (0) none
  • NL Pennants (1) 2005 
  • Central Division titles (4) 1997, 1998, 1999 & 2001 
  • West Division titles (2) 1980 & 1986 
  • Wild card berths (2) 2004 & 2005
Houston Astros 2010 Spring Training roster
  • 93 Fernando Abad 
  • 50 Alberto Árias 
  • 63 Samuel Gervacio
  • 22 Matt Lindstrom
  • 59 Wilton López 
  • 58 Yorman Bazardo 
  • 48 Tim Byrdak
  • 54 Evan Englebrook 
  • 47 Jeff Fulchino
  • 20 Bud Norris
  • 44 Roy Oswalt
  • 52 Felipe Paulino
  • 51 Wandy Rodríguez
  • 43 Chris Sampson
  • 37 Brandon Lyon
  • 38 Brian Moehler
  • 39 Brett Myers
  • 91 Matt Nevarez
  • 92 Henry Villar 
  • 53 Wesley Wright
  • 82 Polin Trinidad
  • 83 José Valdez 
  • 55 Humberto Quintero
  • 46 J. R. Towles
  • 17 Lance Berkman
  • 27 Geoff Blum
  • 3 Kazuo Matsui
  • 18 Edwin Maysonet 
  • 71 Wladimir Sutil
  • 77 Pedro Feliz
  • 23 Chris Johnson
  • 28 Jeff Keppinger
  • 12 Tommy Manzella
  • 45 Carlos Lee
  • 4 Jason Michaels
  • 9 Hunter Pence
  • 19 Brian Bogusevic 
  • 21 Michael Bourn
  • 30 Yordany Ramírez
Spring Training non-roster invitees
  • 11 Jason Bourgeois
  • 26 Cory Sullivan
·        2 Brad Mills
·        10 Bobby Meacham (first base)
·        13 Al Pedrique (bench)
·        31 Brad Arnsberg (pitching)
·        14 Sean Berry (hitting)
·        35 Dave Clark (third base)
·        6 Jamie Quirk (bullpen)


Created on Fri, 04/02/2010 - 10:42.

Home  |   Contact Us   |   Sitemap  |  Feedback   |   XML Sitemap   |   Link To Us  |  RSS