warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/baseball/public_html/includes/theme.inc:1) in /home/baseball/public_html/includes/common.inc on line 148.

Detroit Tigers

The American League has eight charter franchises and the Detroit Tigers is one of them. Established in the year 1894, the team is based in Detroit, Michigan. Being a charter member of the AL, Detroit Tigers is among those four clubs that are still sited in their original city. Other three clubs are Chicago White Sox, Cleveland Indians, and the Boston Red Sox. The team is credited with four World Series Championships. Apart from these, it has also won the American League penchant 10 times and the East Division titles three times. In the year 2006, it was given Wild card berths.
History of the Detroit Tigers
On April 24, 1901, Detroit Tigers first played their official American League game. In the year 1902, performance of the team was also not satisfactory and they struggled and ended the season in seventh place. Even in 2003, they could not play well and finished in fifth place.
The period between 1905 and 1921 is popularly known as the Cobb era. The team signed Ty Cobb in 1905. He was an excellent player. In addition to Cobb, the team also had other talented players like Sam Crawford, Hughie Jennings, Bill Donovan and George Mulin. The result was that the Detroit Tigers won the American League Championship for three consecutive years - 1907, 1908 and 1909.
During the decade of 1930s, the Tigers were the unchallenged champions in the league. They won the American League yet again in the year 1934 and 1935. They won the American League Championships again in the year 1940 but lost the World Series to the Cincinnati Reds. 
The Detroit Tigers won the World Series Championships crown in the year 1968. But in the very next year, they lost to the Baltimore Orioles and ended the season at the second place. The same history was repeated in 1971 when they finished at the same spot.
The period during 1973 to 1978 was the time when the Detroit Tigers lost their crowning position and stayed more or less at the lower and middle position. However, they bounced back again in the year 1984 to clinch the World Series title.
Facts & Figures
World Series Victories
µ      1984 World Series
µ      1968 World Series
µ      1945 World Series
µ      World Series 1935
American League Victories
µ      2006 AL Pennants
µ      1984 AL Pennants
µ      1968 AL Pennants
µ      1945 AL Pennants
µ      1940 AL Pennants
µ      1935 AL Pennants
µ      1934 AL Pennants
µ      1909 AL Pennants
µ      1908 AL Pennants
µ      1907 AL Pennants
East Division Victories
µ      1987 East Division titles
µ      1984 East Division titles
µ      1972 East Division titles
Hall of Fame Members of Detroit Tigers
Following are the names of Hall of Fame Member of Detroit Tigers:
Name of the Members
Al Kaline
Al Simmons
Bucky Harris
Charlie Gehringer
Earl Averill
Ed Barrow
Eddie Mathews
George Kell
Goose Goslin
Hal Newhouser
Hank Greenberg
Harry Heilmann
Heinie Manush
Hughie Jennings
Jim Bunning
Larry Doby
Mickey Cochrane
Sam Crawford
Sam Thomps
Sparky Anderson
Ty Cobb
Waite Hoyt
Whitey Herzog
Active Rosters of Detroit Tigers
µ      21 Dontrelle Willis
µ      38 Jeremy Bonderman
µ      49 Eddie Bonine
µ      40 Phil Coke
µ      43 Alfredo Fígaro  
µ      36 Brad Thomas
µ      50 Jacob Turner
µ      46 José Valverde
µ      29 Nate Robertson
µ      37 Max Scherzer
µ      54 Joel Zumaya
µ      58 Armando Galarraga
µ      31 Zach Miner
µ      59 Fu-Te Ni
µ      56 Jay Sborz
µ      55 Daniel Schlereth
µ      44 Bobby Seay
µ      35 Justin Verlander
µ      45 Ryan Perry
µ      48 Rick Porcello
µ      13 Alex Avila
µ      8 Gerald Laird
µ      4 Adam Everett
µ      15 Brandon Inge
µ      39 Ramón Santiago
µ      20 Scott Sizemore
µ      33 Ryan Strieby
µ      24 Miguel Cabrera
µ      53 Audy Ciriaco 
µ      27 Brent Dlugach
µ      34 Clete Thomas
µ      57 Casper Wells 
µ      25 Ryan Raburn
µ      26 Brennan Boesch
µ      32 Don Kelly
µ      18 Johnny Damon
µ      9 Carlos Guillén
µ      14 Austin Jackson
µ      60 Wilkin Ramírez
µ      30 Magglio Ordóñez
Last updated on Wed, 05/26/2010 - 11:29.

Home  |   Contact Us   |   Sitemap  |  Feedback   |   XML Sitemap   |   Link To Us  |  RSS